Rear deck complete

Long time no update. I guess that comes with living and life and the fact that the build is well and truly over.

But the jobs and external work continues. The rear deck has been completed (well, a few months ago, but hey!)

deskdone0

It was a very long four days with uncle Bob but the savings were huge. I purchased $2,500 in new wood to cover the gaps in my recycled wood from the old house deck. Well worth the salvage effort (but did seem like a lot of hard work at the time in the winter rain).

2014-09-28 14.08.18

The deck is 75% recycled wood which I think is a great result. It is a huge deck and would have cost in the vicinity of $20,000 had I got a professional deck team out.

I must say, drilling and nailing some 4,000-5,000 nails did start to get the better of me towards the end. Sore hands and knees.

IMG_3438

IMG_3440

IMG_3449

IMG_3450

IMG_3452

IMG_3454

IMG_3448

 

2 thoughts on “Rear deck complete

  1. Looks great. You’ve definitely put in some hard work here but the results are fantastic!

    I should call past and see your garden in person. It is always good to see a design come to life and I would love to get some photos if that is ok?

    Cheers!

    Jason

  2. Any time Jason. The plants are needing a few seasons to fill out their spaces and I need to finish with some mulch. It does look a little incomplete and messy for your liking!

Leave a comment